Recognition & Awards

David M. Hume Memorial Award

The David M. Hume Award was created in memory of one of the National Kidney Foundation's most distinguished members. The Hume Award is the highest honor given to a distinguished scientist-clinician in the field of kidney and urologic diseases. It is bestowed upon an individual who exemplifies the high ideals of scholarship and humanitarianism in an outstanding manner. The 2014 award recipient is Friedrich K. Port, MD, MS, FACP.

Friedrich K. Port, MD, MS, FACPDr. Port is Senior Investigator at Arbor Research, Emeritus Professor of Medicine (Nephrology) and Epidemiology at the UM Schools of Medicine and Public Health, and former President of Arbor Research (2002 - 2009). Dr. Port has recently served as PI for Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients (SRTR), the Dialysis Outcomes and Practice Patterns Study (DOPPS) and several demonstration projects for the CMS. Dr. Port has over 30 years of experience in quantitative analyses of kidney disease patients. He served as the Deputy Director of the NIH-funded United States Renal Data System (USRDS) Coordinating Center from 1988 to 1999, and is the recipient of the highest awards from the American Society of Nephrology (Scribner Award) and the National Kidney Foundation (Seldin Award). He has authored/ coauthored more than 400 scientific publications.

Past David M. Hume award recipients:

2013 - Tomas Berl, MD
2012 - Andrew S. Levey, MD, FNKF
2011 - Jeremy Chapman, MD
2010 - John Sedor, MD
2009 - Brian J.G. Pereira, MD, MBA
2008 - Lawrence Hunsicker, MD
2007 - William G. Couser, MD
2006 - Frank L. Delmonico, MD
2005 - Charles B. Carpenter, MD
2004 - John Stewart Cameron, MD
2003 - Franklin H. Epstein, MD
2002 - Barry M. Brenner, MD
2001 - William E. Mitch, MD
2000 - [No Award]
1999 - Neil A. Kurtzman, MD
1998 - Jared J. Grantham, MD
1997 - Thomas E. Andreoli, MD
1996 - Edmund G. Lowrie, MD
1995 - Joseph W. Eschbach, MD
1994 - Wadi N. Suki, MD
1993 - Joel D. Kopple, MD
1992 - Saulo Klahr, MD
1991 - Prof. August Heidland
1990 - Richard J. Glassock, MD
1989 - Prof. Priscilla Kincaid-Smith
1988 - Shaul G. Massry, MD
1987 - Robert W. Schrier, MD
1986 - Robert Heptinstall, MD
1985 - Willem J. Jolff, MD
1984 - Charles R. Kleeman, MD
1983 - Robert W. Berliner, MD
1982 - Prof. Hugh E. de Wardener
1981 - Donald W. Seldin, MD
1980 - George E. Schreiner, MD
1979 - John P. Merrill, MD
1978 - Thomas E. Starzl, MD
1977 - Henry L. Barnett, MD
1976 - Carl. W. Gottschalk, MD
1975 - Belding Scribner, MD
1974 - Robert M. Kark, MD
1973 - Jean Hamburger, MD