Recognition & Awards

Donald W. Seldin Distinguised Award

The Donald W. Seldin Award was established to recognize excellence in clinical nephrology in the tradition of one of the foremost teachers and researchers in the field, Dr. Donald W. Seldin. The 2014 award recipient is Ronald Perrone, MD.

Ronald Perrone, MDDr. Ronald Perrone is the Medical Director of Kidney Transplantation at Tufts Medical Center in Boston, MA. He received his MD at Hahnemann Medical College in Philadelphia, PA. Dr. Perrone has had a long-standing and wide-ranging interest in the translation of basic science discoveries to clinical medicine. Starting with a laboratory focused on epithelial transport, he subsequently focused on work with immortalized epithelia, including human intrahepatic biliary epithelium, human polycystic liver cysts, and human bladder. His present work focuses on clinical research in polycystic kidney disease and the role of total kidney volume as a biomarker in response to clinical therapies. Dr. Perrone has been a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Polycystic Kidney Disease Foundation since 1999 (Chairman from 2006-2010) and frequently lectures at national and local patient meetings. He served as Co-Investigator with Dr. Andrew Levey in the pilot and planning phases (Phase I and II) of the Modification of Diet in Renal Disease (MDRD) study and played a fundamental role in the validation and use of the 125I-iothalamate protocol used for the MDRD and other clinical trials of progressive kidney disease. Over the past 4 years, Dr. Perrone has initiated the PKD Outcomes Consortium and has been the principal individual involved in bringing together the contributors from academia, pharma, NIH, FDA, CDISC, and C-Path. He has led this large and diverse consortium that is creating the groundwork for validation of total kidney volume as a clinical trial and regulatory endpoint in ADPKD.

Dr. Perrone has received several honors and awards, including Boston Magazine's Top Doctors in Nephrology (2009 - 2012).

Past Donald W. Seldin Award Recipients:

2013 - Joanne M. Bargman, MD, FRCPC
2012 - Gerald B. Appel, MD
2011 - Sharon Adler, MD
2010 - Fredric L. Coe, MD, FACP, FASN
2009 - William F. Keane, MD
2008 - Thomas D. DubBose, Jr., MD
2007 - L. Lee Hamm, MD, FACP
2006 - Heini Murer, PhD and Bernard S. Rossier, MD
2005 - Roland C. Blantz, MD
2004 - Gerhard H. Giebisch, MD
2003 - William M. Bennett, MD
2002 - Professor Carl Erik Mogensen
2001 - Friedrich K. Port, MD, MS, FACP
2000 - Tilman B. Drüeke, MD
1999 - Shaul G. Massry, MD
1998 - Alan R. Hull, MD
1997 - Thomas F. Parker, III, MD
1996 - Floyd C. Rector, MD
1995 - Barry M. Brenner, MD
1994 - Manuel Martinez-Maldonado, MD