Recognition & Awards

The J. Michael Lazarus Lecture

This lectureship was established to honor Dr. J. Michael Lazarus for his major contributions to the clinical science and care of dialysis patients, and to recognize individuals whose research has yielded novel insights related to renal replacement therapy. The 2014 award recipient is Claudio Ronco, MD.

Claudio Ronco, MDProfessor Claudio Ronco is currently Director of the Department of Nephrology and Transplantation at the International Renal Research Institute (IRRIV), San Bortolo Hospital, Vicenza, Italy.

He graduated in medicine from the University of Padua, Italy, in 1976 and then specialized in nephrology at the University of Padua and in pediatric nephrology at the University of Naples.

Professor Ronco has also held positions as an Assistant and Associate Professor at the Division of Nephrology in Vicenza, and Director of the Renal Laboratory of Research at the Renal Research Institute and Professor of Medicine at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Beth Israel Medical Centre of New York in 1999 and 2000.

He has co-authored 1147 papers, 70 books and 86 book chapters and has delivered more than 750 lectures at international meetings and universities. He is or has been council member of several scientific societies, he is Editor Emeritus of the International Journal of Artificial Organs, Editor-in-Chief of Blood Purification and Contributions to Nephrology.

Professor Ronco has received numerous awards including the lifetime achievement award for hemodialysis in 2005, the honorary membership from the Spanish Society of Nephrology in 2004, the National Kidney Foundation International Medal of Excellence and the ISN Bywaters Award for Acute Renal Failure in 2009, in 2010 the Belding Scribner Award of the ISHD and in 2012 the Lifetime achievement award on peritoneal dialysis, in 2013 the Dimitris Oreopoulos Memorial Award.

He is considered the pioneer in many areas of nephrology including critical care nephrology, CRRT, cardiorenal syndromes and wearable dialysis technology.

Past Recipients

2013 - Bradley A. Warady, MD, FNKF
2012 - Jonathan Himmelfarb, MD
2011 - John Dauguirdas, MD