Recognition & Awards

Shaul G. Massry Distinguished Lecture

This lectureship was established to honor Dr. Shaul G. Massry for his scientific achievements and his contributions to the kidney health care community and to the National Kidney Foundation. The 2014 honored lecture is Mark J. Sarnak, MD, MS. Dr. Sarnak will be presenting on "TBD" on Wednesday, April 23.

Mark J. Sarnak, MD, MSDr. Sarnak is Professor of Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine (TUSM) and Director of Research in the Division of Nephrology at Tufts Medical Center (TMC). After obtaining his MD from Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, he completed his residency at Massachusetts General Hospital. He trained in Nephrology at TMC and received a Master's Degree in Clinical Research from TUSM. Dr. Sarnak's research encompasses the relationship of CKD to aging, cognition and cardiovascular disease, and he has been funded by the NIH for the last 13 years. The author of more than 200 publications, Dr. Sarnak was the Co-Editor of AJKD from 2006-2007 and on the Editorial Board of the Annals of Internal Medicine from 2010-2013. He was a member of the KDIGO Guideline for the Management of Blood Pressure in CKD and is current Co-Chair of the KDOQI Commentary Work Group of the KDIGO Guideline for Lipid Management in CKD. Dr. Sarnak has been a mentor to numerous fellows and junior faculty in clinical research, and received a Teaching Award from the Tufts Medical Center Residents as well as several citations for Excellence in Teaching from Tufts Medical Students. Dr. Sarnak has been named in Boston Magazine Best Doctors' from 2010-2012.

Past Shaul G. Massry Distinguished Lecture Recipients:

2013 - Barry I. Freedman, MD
2012 - Ravi Thadhani, MD, MPH
2011 - Glenn M. Chertow, MD
2010 - Allan J. Collins, MD, FACP
2009 - Mohamed Sayegh, MD
2008 - Tom Greene, PhD
2007 - Eberhard Ritz, MD
2006 - Giuseppe Remuzzi, MD, FRCP
2005 - Edmund J. Lewis, MD
2004 - Hans-Henrik Parvin, MD, DMSc
2003 - Robert Alpern, MD
2002 - Joseph V. Bonventre, MD, PhD
2001 - Andrzej S. Krolewski, MD, PhD
2000 - Richard J. Glassock, MD
1999 - Giuseppe Bianchi
1998 - Josephine Briggs, MD
1997 - Gary E. Striker, MD
1996 - Alfred Michael, MD