KDOQI (Kidney Disease Outcomes Quality Initiative)


KDOQI Clinical Practice Guidelines and Clinical Practice Recommendations for Diabetes and Chronic Kidney Disease


Thanks go to the KDOQI™ Chairs (Adeera Levin, MD, and Mike Rocco, MD, MSCE) and the Advisory Board for providing constructive criticism that helped shape the project. The Work Group thanks the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) for support and guidance during this project. Kerry Willis, PhD, Donna Fingerhut, Anthony Gucciardo, Richard Milburn, and Michael Cheung were instrumental in coordinating the guideline development process. Special thanks to Chef Duane Sunwold, who graciously provided the sample meal plans that appear in Appendix I, and Ken Doyle, PhD, consultant editor, who provided invaluable assistance in preparing the document.

The Work Group is indebted to the Evidence Review Team, who worked tirelessly to assemble the evidence and creatively to synthesize the information.

The Work Group appreciates the careful review of the draft guidelines and suggestions for improvement by external reviewers. Each comment was carefully considered and, whenever possible, suggestions for change were incorporated into the final report. As a result, the KDOQI™ Clinical Practice Guidelines and Clinical Practice Recommendations for Diabetes and Chronic Kidney Disease is the product of the Work Group, the Evidence Review Team, the NKF, and all those who contributed their effort to improve the Guidelines.

The following individuals provided written review of the draft guidelines: Mohamed H. Abdulhadi, MD, Nihal Younis Abosaif, MD, Myriam Alfonso, RN, BSN, CNN, Mustafa Arici, MD, Ayo Arije, MB, BS, FMCP, Robert Atkins, MD, Martin Auinger, MD, Vinod Bansal, MD, Bryan N. Becker, MD, Ezequiel Bellorin-Font, MD, Stephen Blonsky, MD, Susan Bridger, RN, CNN, Deborah Brommage, MS, RD, CSR, CDN, Sally Burrows-Hudson, MS, RN, Nathaniel Clark, MD, Nenita A. Collantes, MD, Peter W. Crooks, MD, Veta Cumbaa, RN, BA, CCA, Mrinal Dasgupta, MD, MSc, FRCPC, Jean-Yves De Vos, RN, Dick de Zeeuw, MD, Thomas A. Depner, MD, David A. DeMicco, PharmD, Betty Dong, MD, Earl J. Dunnigan, MD, FACP, Garabed Eknoyan, MD, Magdy El-Sharkawy, PhD, MD, Paola Fioretto, MD, PhD, Vivian Fonseca, MD, Judith Fradkin, MD, Martha Funnell, RN, MS, CDE, Giovanni Gambaro, MD, PhD, Marilyn Gammarino, RD, LD, CDE, Sana Ghaddar, RD, PhD, Cheryl Gilmartin, PharmD, Mirela Gliga, MD, Suzanne W. Gore, RD, MS, LD, Laura Harris, RD, CDE, Brian Hearne, Judith Hey-Hadavi, MD, Takanobu Imada, Todd Ing, MD, FRCP, Atul V. Ingale, MD, Bertrand Jaber, MD, Vivekanand Jha, MD, DM, Sharon Karp, MD, Karren King, MSW, ACSW, LCSW, Janice Knouff, RN, BS, Victoria Kumar, MD, Craig Langman, MD, J. Michael Lazarus, MD, Brian Lee, MD, David J. Leehey, MD, Edgar V. Lerma, MD, Andrew S. Levey, MD, Adeera Levin, MD, FRCPC, Nathan Levin, MD, FACP, Edmund J. Lewis, MD, Francesco Locatelli, MD, Samir Mallat, MD, FASN, Gail Martinez, RN, Aletha D.M. Matsis, BSN, RN, CNN, Linda McCann, RD, LD, CSR, Kathryn McDougall, RN, MS, CDE, Sergio Mezzano, MD, Maureen A. Michaels, RN, William E. Mitch, MD, Waleed Zeid Mohamed, MD, N. Mohandas, MD, Giuseppe Mule, MD, Mohsen Nafar, MD, Sarala Naicker, MD, Nabila Niaz, MD, Allen Nissenson, MD, Juliet C. Noel, MD, Chike Nzerue, MD, Alfredo Obieta, MD, Gregorio Obrador, MD, Caryl Ann O'Reilly, CNS, CDE, MBA, Oktay Ozkan, Joni J. Pagenkemper, MS, MA, RD, LMNT, Rulan Parekh, MD, MS, Hans-Henrik Parving, MD, Uptal D. Patel, MD, Nidia Pernalete, MD, Luana Pillon, MD, Christian Pisano, MD, Mariana Pop, MD, Khetan Prakash, MD, Itamar Raz, MD, Greg Richard, Michael V. Rocco, MD, FACP, Helena Rodbard, MD, Jerome A. Rossert, MD, PhD, Bento C. Santos, MD, PhD, Peter Savage, MD, Kristine S. Schonder, PharmD, Yvonne M. Schoonover, NP, Brian Schwartz, MD, Michael Schwenk, PharmD, Antoinette Skalamera, MD, Rita Solomon-Dimmitt, RD, LDN, CSR, Maureen Spence, Robert Stanton, MD, Melissa Szymczak, MD, Rahel Tamrat, MA, Paulose P. Thomas, MD, Kiran Toor, MD, Raymond Vanholder, MD, PhD, Joseph Vassalotti, MD, Candace Walworth, MD, Nanette Wenger, MD, David Wheeler, MD, FRCP, Sue Wheeler, RN, BS, MSHA, CCM, Karen Wiesen, MS, RD, LD, Jiaqiong (Susan) Xu, PhD, Akira Yamada, MD, Carmine Zoccali, MD, Andrea Zuckerman, MD.

Participation in the review does not necessarily constitute endorsement of the content of the report by the individuals or the organization or institution they represent.


Back to top | Main Page