Eminent Lubbock Researcher Receives National Kidney Foundation's Highest Honor

Miami, FL (November 6, 1999) - Neil A. Kurtzman, MD was named recipient of the National Kidney Foundation's David M. Hume Memorial Award at its 49th Annual Meeting held here. The Hume Award honors a physician whose scientific achievements are acknowledged by his or her colleagues as significant advances in the field of nephrology or urology.

Dr. Kurtzman is internationally known for his research on kidney function and disease, most notably, his work on the kidney's regulation of acid excretion. He serves as University Distinguished Professor, Arnett Professor of Medicine and Professor of Physiology, Department of Internal Medicine at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center in (TTUHSC) Lubbock. From 1985 to 1998 he served as chairman of the Department of Internal Medicine at TTUHSC. He was president of the National Kidney Foundation from 1992 to 1994 and currently serves as editor of American Journal of Kidney Diseases, NKF's official journal. He is also a member of NKF's Emeritus Committee and the Scientific Advisory Board.

A native of Brooklyn, New York, Dr. Kurtzman received his B.A. with honors from Williams College and his M.D. from New York Medical College.

The National Kidney Foundation is dedicated to preventing kidney and urinary tract diseases, improving the health and well being of individuals and families affected by these diseases and increasing the availability of all organs for transplantation.