Young Investigators Recognized at NKF's 2010 Spring Clinical Nephrology Meetings

Orlando, FL (April 14, 2010) — Research Fellows were recognized for excellence in basic and clinical research at the National Kidney Foundation 2010 Spring Clinical Meetings in Orlando, FL, during the annual National Young Investigators Forum (YIF). Regional winners were invited to participate and competed for national accolades based on original research presented at the forum.

"The National Young Investigators Forum is truly one of a kind, providing an outstanding forum for future leaders in nephrology to interact with investigators who have demonstrated track records in research as well as with their peers from around the country," says Bryan Becker, MD, National Kidney Foundation President. "The forum provides continuity and recognition for the fellows and their mentors at a national level."

Final awards were decided through an open competition judged by independent clinical experts. The 2010 winners in both categories include:

Basic Science

1st place: Gautam Bhave, MD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN, for his project, Rational Design of a Highly Selective Renal Outer Medullary Potassium Channel (ROMK) Small Molecule Antagonist,

2nd place: Sunny Hartwig, PhD, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA for her project, Molecular Functions of WT1 in Kidney Stem Cells in Vivo,

3rd place: Aman Bajwa, MD, University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA for her project, Deficiency of Bone Marrow Derived S1P3 Receptors Attenuates, the Innate Immune Response in Renal Ischemia Reperfusion Injury (IRI),

Clinical Research

1st place: F. Perry Wilson, MD, University of PA Health System, Philadelphia, PA for his project, Measurement of Cefepime Clerance and Creatinine Generation in Patients on High Blood and Dialysate Flow Continuous Venovenous Hemodialysis,

2nd place: Julie Ann Wright, MD, Vanderbilt Universitiy Medical Center, Nashville, TN for her project, Perceived Disease Specific Knowledge is Limited in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease,

3rd place: Tamara Isakova, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA for her project, Diuretic Therapy and Secondary Hyperparathyroidism and Chronic Renal Insufficiency Cohort.

The National Young Investigators Forum was sponsored by Amgen, Inc.

The National Kidney Foundation is dedicated to preventing and treating kidney and urinary tract disease, improving the health and well-being of individuals and families affected by these diseases and increasing awareness of all organs for transplantation. For more information visit