J. Kevin Tucker, MD

The Donald W. Seldin Award

Mass General Brigham

Harvard Medical School


View Press Release 

Dr. J. Kevin Tucker is Vice-President for Education at Mass General Brigham and Assistant Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School. He is also co-director of Harvard Medical School’s Master’s in Clinical Service Operations program. His clinical appointment is at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, where he focuses on the management of chronic kidney disease patients, hemodialysis patients, and peritoneal dialysis patients.


A native of Monroeville, Alabama, Kevin graduated from Birmingham-Southern College and Cornell University Medical College (now Weill Cornell).  He then completed internal medicine training at Massachusetts General Hospital and a nephrology fellowship at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB).  He remained at UAB on faculty from 1996-2002.  During his tenure at UAB, he was recognized as an outstanding teacher with the Department of Medicine Division Teacher Award as well as the Department of Medicine Top Ten Teacher Award.  He was the nephrology fellowship program director at UAB from 1999-2002.


He returned to Boston in 2002, joining the faculty of Brigham and Women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School.  He was named Program Director for the Brigham and Women’s Hospital-Massachusetts General Hospital Nephrology Program in 2007 and served in that capacity for ten years.  He also served as Chief of Renal Medicine at Brigham and Women’s/Faulkner Hospital from 2013-2020 and as Harvard Medical School’s Faculty Director for Accreditation and MOC in the Department of Postgraduate Medical Education from 2016-2020.


Kevin’s interest in peritoneal dialysis led him to found the peritoneal dialysis program at DCI Faulkner, which has grown to about forty patients.  The clinic has been recognized for clinical excellence by winning DCI’s Darwin Peterson award on three occasions since its inception.  Kevin remains a leading advocate for home dialysis therapies.


Past Donald W. Seldin Award Recipients:

  • 2021: Mark Perazella, MD, MS
  • 2020: Gary Curhan, MD
  • 2019: Jerry Yee, MD
  • 2018: Jeffrey Berns, MD, FNKF
  • 2017: Jonathan Himmelfarb, MD
  • 2016: Bruce A. Molitoris, MD
  • 2015: David Salant, MD
  • 2014: Ronald Perrone, MD
  • 2013: Joanne M. Bargman, MD, FRCPC
  • 2012: Gerald B. Appel, MD
  • 2011: Sharon Adler, MD
  • 2010: Fredric L. Coe, MD, FACP, FASN
  • 2009: William F. Keane, MD
  • 2008: Thomas D. DubBose, Jr., MD
  • 2007: L. Lee Hamm, MD, FACP
  • 2006: Heini Murer, PhD and Bernard S. Rossier
  • 2005: Roland C. Blantz, MD
  • 2004: Gerhard H. Giebisch, MD
  • 2003: William M. Bennett, MD
  • 2002: Professor Carl Erik Mogensen
  • 2001: Friedrich K. Port, MD, MS, FACP
  • 2000: Tilman B. Drüeke, MD
  • 1999: Shaul G. Massry, MD
  • 1998: Alan R. Hull, MD
  • 1997: Thomas F. Parker, III, MD
  • 1996: Floyd C. Rector, MD
  • 1995: Barry M. Brenner, MD