Bernard Jaar, MD, MPH

The Garabed Eknoyan Award

Dr. Bernard Jaar is a nephrologist on the part-time Faculty in the Division of Nephrology, Department of Medicine at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine with Joint Appointment in the Department of Epidemiology at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. He is also an Associate Faculty member of the Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology and Clinical Research at the Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions.


He holds a Master of Public Health degree from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians, of the American Society of Nephrology and of the National Kidney Foundation. He serves on the Editorial Board of several nephrology journals, and has authored or coauthored over 200 peer reviewed manuscripts and book chapters. He is a past Chair of the State of Maryland Commission on Kidney Disease. He is also a past Chair of the Medical Advisory Board of the National Kidney Foundation of Maryland; he is the immediate past Chair of the National Kidney Foundation Education Committee and Vice-Chair for Education of the Kidney Disease Outcomes Quality Initiative (KDOQI) Guidelines.  He is Chair of the Exam Writing Committee of the American Board of Internal Medicine Sub-Specialty in Nephrology.


Past Garabed Eknoyan Award Recipients:

  • 2021: Jessica Joseph, MBA
  • 2020: Kerry Willis, PhD
  • 2019: Charmaine Lok, MD, MSc, FRCPC
  • 2018: Lesley A. Inker, MD, MS, FRCPC
  • 2017: Katherine R. Tuttle, MD, FASN, FACP
  • 2016: Holly Kramer, MD, MPH
  • 2015: Michael J. Choi, MD, FNKF
  • 2014: Katrin Uhlig, MS, MS
  • 2013: Michael V. Rocco, MD, MSCE, FNKF
  • 2012: Bryan Becker, MD, MMM, FACP, FNKF
  • 2011: Kai-Uwe Eckhardt, MD
  • 2010: Josef Coresh, MD
  • 2009: Sharon M. Moe, MD
  • 2008: Adeera Levin, MD, FRCPC
  • 2007: Norbert H. Lameire, MD
  • 2006: Francesco Locatelli, MD, FRCBP
  • 2005: Nathan W. Levin, MD, FACP
  • 2004: Neil R. Powe, MD, MPH, MBA
  • 2003: Bertram L. Kasiske, MD
  • 2002: Andrew S. Levey, MD