CNSW Awards

The Council of Nephrology Social Workers acknowledges the contributions of its national members and local affiliate chapters through annual awards. Award nominations are due in July of each year, and will be given at the following year's NKF Spring Clinical Meetings. Note: Previous winners are not eligible to receive the same award for five years. See list of previous winners here

Nomination applications for the 2025 CNSW Awards will be open from May 28 – July 31, 2024


More Info and Applications »


Merit Award

The Merit Award recognizes CNSW members who have made noteworthy contributions in the areas of leadership, involvement in projects that impact ESRD patients, contributions to the nephrology social work knowledge base and contributions to patient services.

New Worker Award

The New Worker Award is given to nephrology social workers who have been in the field 3 to 5 years and who have made noteworthy contributions to patient services and project involvement. One does not need to belong to a Chapter to be nominated. A CNSW member can be nominated by their Chapter or by a nephrology professional.

Recognized Chapter Award

The Recognized Chapter Award is given to one small chapter (less than 20 members) and one large chapter (greater than 20 members). Chapter activities are reviewed based on development of patient-focused or professional materials, collaboration with renal related organizations and chapter cooperation with CNSW.

Award for Social Work in a Transplant Setting

The Award in a Transplant Setting will be awarded to a worker who has been in the transplant field two or more years and made a valuable contribution to social work in the field of renal social work in a transplant setting.

The Sandra Coorough Award for Social Work in a Pediatric Setting

The Sandra Coorough Award for Social Work in a Pediatric Setting will be given to a worker who has been in the pediatric field for two or more years, and has made a valuable contribution to social work in the field of pediatric renal social work.

Robert Whitlock Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is named in honor of Robert W. Whitlock, MSSW, MHA, LCSW, Director of the Missouri Kidney Program (MoKP), and a leader in the kidney community, who passed away in 2008. Bob was a dedicated nephrology social worker and an outstanding contributor to research, teaching, and clinical practice in nephrology social work.

Nominations to this award are made by the Executive Committee (EC), and voted and approved by the EC. Candidates are chosen based on a long career of advancing the Nephrology Social Work profession and improving the lives of kidney patients and family through research, presentations, articles, and/or program development. There is no formal application; however, the merit award form can be used.