David M. Hume Memorial Award

The David M. Hume Award was created in memory of one of the National Kidney Foundation's most distinguished members. The Hume Award is the highest honor given to a distinguished scientist-clinician in the field of kidney and urologic diseases. It is bestowed upon an individual who exemplifies the high ideals of scholarship and humanitarianism in an outstanding manner. The 2021 award recipient is Paul K. Whelton, MB, MD, MSc.

Paul K. Whelton, MB, MD, MScPaul K. Whelton, is a medical graduate (MB) of University College Cork, Ireland, with a master’s degree (MSc) in clinical epidemiology from University of London and a prevention research doctorate (MD) from the National University of Ireland. He spent 26 years at Johns Hopkins, where he founded the Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology, and Clinical Research. Subsequently, he was Tulane University Dean, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine; Dean, School of Medicine; and Senior Vice President for Health Sciences. Later, he was President/CEO, Loyola University Health System and Medical Center before returning to Tulane as Show Chwan Health System Endowed Chair in Global Public Health.

Dr. Whelton’s interests include blood pressure-related cardiovascular/renal disease epidemiology, prevention, clinical trials, and global health. He chaired the Trials of Hypertension Prevention (TOHP), Trial of Nonpharmacologic Interventions in the Elderly (TONE), Antihypertensive and Lipid Lowering Treatment to Prevent Heart Attack Trial (ALLHAT), Systolic Blood Pressure Intervention Trial (SPRINT) and the 2017 ACC/AHA Blood Pressure Guideline Writing Committee. A recipient of the AHA Population Research Prize (2007), Blood Pressure Council Excellence in Hypertension Research Award (2018), and Distinguished Scientist Award (2019), he has published approximately 500 peer reviewed manuscripts and 70 books/chapters, supplements or monographs.

View press release

Past David M. Hume Award Recipients:

2020 - Josephine Briggs, MD
2019 - Neil R. Powe, MD, MPH, MBA​
2018 - Glenn M. Chertow, MD 
2017 - Richard J. Johnson, MD
2016 - Sharon Anderson, MD
2015 - Josef Coresh, MD, PhD, MHS
2014 - Friedrich K. Port, MD, MS, FACP
2013 - Tomas Berl, MD
2012 - Andrew S. Levey, MD, FNKF
2011 - Jeremy Chapman, MD
2010 - John Sedor, MD
2009 - Brian J.G. Pereira, MD, MBA
2008 - Lawrence Hunsicker, MD
2007 - William G. Couser, MD
2006 - Frank L. Delmonico, MD
2005 - Charles B. Carpenter, MD
2004 - John Stewart Cameron, MD
2003 - Franklin H. Epstein, MD
2002 - Barry M. Brenner, MD
2001 - William E. Mitch, MD
2000 - [No Award]
1999 - Neil A. Kurtzman, MD
1998 - Jared J. Grantham, MD
1997 - Thomas E. Andreoli, MD
1996 - Edmund G. Lowrie, MD
1995 - Joseph W. Eschbach, MD
1994 - Wadi N. Suki, MD
1993 - Joel D. Kopple, MD
1992 - Saulo Klahr, MD
1991 - Prof. August Heidland
1990 - Richard J. Glassock, MD
1989 - Prof. Priscilla Kincaid-Smith
1988 - Shaul G. Massry, MD
1987 - Robert W. Schrier, MD
1986 - Robert Heptinstall, MD
1985 - Willem J. Jolff, MD
1984 - Charles R. Kleeman, MD
1983 - Robert W. Berliner, MD
1982 - Prof. Hugh E. de Wardener
1981 - Donald W. Seldin, MD
1980 - George E. Schreiner, MD
1979 - John P. Merrill, MD
1978 - Thomas E. Starzl, MD
1977 - Henry L. Barnett, MD
1976 - Carl. W. Gottschalk, MD
1975 - Belding Scribner, MD
1974 - Robert M. Kark, MD
1973 - Jean Hamburger, MD