David M. Hume Memorial Award

Alfred Cheung, MD

University of Utah

The David M. Hume Award was created in memory of one of the National Kidney Foundation's most distinguished members. The Hume Award is the highest honor given to a distinguished scientist-clinician in the field of kidney and urologic diseases. It is bestowed upon an individual who exemplifies the high ideals of scholarship and humanitarianism in an outstanding manner.


Alfred K. Cheung, MD is Dialysis Research Foundation Presidential Endowed Chair Professor of Internal Medicine, Chief of Division of Nephrology & Hypertension, and Vice Chair for Research in Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Utah, U.S.A. 


Dr. Cheung is a clinical nephrologist caring for CKD, ESRD and general nephrology patients.  His research has focused on chronic kidney disease, hemodialysis, vascular access and hypertension.  He has served on various committees in the U.S. National Kidney Foundation, American Society of Nephrology, U.S. Food & Drug Administration, U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, and as a Councilor in the International Society of Nephrology.  He has also been a chartered member or ad hoc member of grant review committees for the U.S. National Institutes of Health and other research funding organizations.  He was Interim Co-Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of American Society of Nephrology (JASN) in 2018.  


He co-chaired the Kidney Disease Outcome Quality Initiative (K/DOQI) guidelines on “Cardiovascular Disease in Dialysis Patients” and, more recently, the Kidney Disease: Improving Global Outcomes (KDIGO) guideline update on “Management of blood pressure in chronic kidney disease”. 


Past David M. Hume Memorial Award Recipients:

  • 2022: Susan T. Crowley, MD, MBA, FASN, FNKF
  • 2021: Paul Whelton, MB, MD, MSC
  • 2020: Josephine Briggs, MD
  • 2019: Neil Powe, MD
  • 2018: Glenn M. Chertow, MD
  • 2017: Richard J. Johnson, MD
  • 2016: Sharon Anderson, MD
  • 2015: Josef Coresh, MD, PhD, MHS
  • 2014: Friedrich K. Port, MD, MS, FACP
  • 2013: Tomas Berl, MD
  • 2012: Andrew S. Levey, MD, FNKF
  • 2011: Jeremy Chapman, MD
  • 2010: John Sedor, MD
  • 2009: Brian J.G. Pereira, MD, MBA
  • 2008: Lawrence Hunsicker, MD
  • 2007: William G. Couser, MD
  • 2006: Frank L. Delmonico, MD
  • 2005: Charles B. Carpenter, MD
  • 2004: John Stewart Cameron, MD
  • 2003: Franklin H. Epstein, MD
  • 2002: Barry M. Brenner, MD
  • 2001: William E. Mitch, MD
  • 2000: [No Award]
  • 1999: Neil A. Kurtzman, MD
  • 1998: Jared J. Grantham, MD
  • 1997: Thomas E. Andreoli, MD
  • 1996: Edmund G. Lowrie, MD
  • 1995: Joseph W. Eschbach, MD
  • 1994: Wadi N. Suki, MD
  • 1993: Joel D. Kopple, MD
  • 1992: Saulo Klahr, MD
  • 1991: Prof. August Heidland
  • 1990: Richard J. Glassock, MD
  • 1989: Prof. Priscilla Kincaid-Smith
  • 1988: Shaul G. Massry, MD
  • 1987: Robert W. Schrier, MD
  • 1986: Robert Heptinstall, MD
  • 1985: Willem J. Jolff, MD
  • 1984: Charles R. Kleeman, MD
  • 1983: Robert W. Berliner, MD
  • 1982: Prof. Hugh E. de Wardener
  • 1981: Donald W. Seldin, MD
  • 1980: George E. Schreiner, MD