Regional Recognized Renal Dietitian Award – Region 3

Quanta Duncan, RDN

Community RDN

Mrs. Quanta Duncan born and raised in Detroit, Michigan and the second out of 3 sisters, initiated her objective to promote healthy lifestyle changes at a young age. Quanta’s passion for cooking and working within the foodservice industry as a prep cook to a banquet chef led to her earning degrees in Culinary Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. Later, earning a Bachelor’s Degree in Dietetics from Eastern Michigan University.


During her career, she worked within the community as a dietitian/nutritionist for the WIC Program for the Detroit Urban League. Later transitioning to Greenfield Health Systems as a Renal Dietitian. Furthermore, she continues to work as a community RDN for contractual home health care services.


Mrs. Duncan is a member of professional associations and practice groups such as Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, National Kidney Foundation, Council on Renal Nutrition of Michigan- Board Member, Michigan Dietetic Association, Renal Dietitians Practice Group, Diabetes Practice Group, Weight Management Practice Group, and National Organization of Blacks in Dietetics and Nutrition (NOBIDAN). Throughout the years, she participates in several organizations as a walker/runner to bring awareness about kidney disease. As the Kidney Walk captain (NKF of Michigan) for her dialysis unit, organizing fundraisers to contribute to education and support services provided by the NKF. In addition, she continues to participate in the Minority Organ Tissue Transplant Education Program Life Walk. 


Mrs. Duncan is humbled by the opportunities that have been afforded her through school, work, and the support from her husband and son. For 30 years, she has been devoted to working and educating within the community. Consistently allowing her passion for food and health sciences to continue to blossom. 

Past Regional Recognized Renal Dietitian Award – Region 3 Recipients:

  • 2023: Nicolle Piernak, RDN
  • 2022: Holley Holloway, RDN
  • 2021: Ann Paterson, MS, RDN, CD
  • 2020: Terrie Holewinski, MS, RDN
  • 2019: Amie Ritchie, RD, CSR
  • 2018: Cynthia Clancey, MS, RD, LD
  • 2017: Heidi Haas, MD, RD, LD, CD
  • 2015: AnnaMarie Rodriguez, RD, LD
  • 2014: Connie Yost, RD, CD
  • 2012: Jennifer Kernc, RD, CSR, LD
  • 2011: Sarah Kruger, MS, RD
  • 2008: Ann  Beemer Cotton, MS, RD, CNSD
  • 2008: Elaine Mitchell, MPH, RD, LD, CDE
  • 2007: Sandra Oliverio, MS, RD, CSR, CD