Medical Advisory Board Distinguished Service Award

This award has been established to recognize an individual for their educational activities and community service in promoting the mission of the National Kidney Foundation on a local level. The 2020 recipient is Wendy St. Peter, Pharm.D., FASN, FCCP, FNKF

Wendy St. Peter, Pharm.D., FASN, FCCP, FNKFDr. Wendy St. Peter is a Professor in the College of Pharmacy at the University of Minnesota. She received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center, where she also completed a fellowship in adult medicine. Dr. St. Peter’s career as a practitioner and now as a researcher has been focused on improving medication management and drug safety in patients with ESRD and chronic kidney disease (CKD). She is an investigator with the United States Renal Data System (USRDS) and conducts pharmacoepidemiology and health outcomes research. Dr. St. Peter has served on several national technical expert panels for medication-related safety and quality measurement and is on the Board of Directors of the Kidney Health Initiative. She has served on her regional and national NKF Medical Advisory Boards for many years and is on the NKF Scientific Advisory Board. She’s worked on several NKF projects related to Medicare Part D policy, including transplant patients’ access to immunosuppressives and an economic model for erythropoiesis stimulating agents. At the regional level she has been involved in primary care practitioner educational programming and been instrumental in getting pharmacy students involved in KEEP screenings. She helped to initiate kidney screening in a student-run low income clinic in Minneapolis, which she hope can serve as a model for other clinics.

Past Medical Advisory Board Distinguished Service Award Recipients:

2019 - Ahmed Malik, MD, JD
2018 - Harold Senekjian, MD, FNKF
2017 - Susanne Nicholas, MD, MPH, PhD 
2016 - Khaled Nashar, MD
2015 - John C.L. Wang, MD, PhD