J. Michael Lazarus Lecture

This award was established to honor Dr. J. Michael Lazarus for his major contributions to the clinical science and care of dialysis patients, and to recognize individuals whose research has yielded novel insights related to renal replacement therapy. The 2021 award recipient is Kirsten L. Johansen, MD.

Kirsten L. Johansen, MDKirsten L. Johansen, MD is Chief of Nephrology at Hennepin Healthcare and Professor of Medicine at the University of Minnesota. She is the co-Director of the Chronic Disease Research Group and the Director of the United States Renal Data System Coordinating Center. Dr. Johansen conducts clinical and epidemiological research in chronic kidney disease. Her work has focused on two main areas: 1) physical function among patients with end-stage kidney disease and interventions to improve it, including exercise and physical activity, and 2) epidemiology of chronic kidney disease with an emphasis on racial and ethnic disparities in progression of chronic kidney disease and access to kidney transplantation. Dr. Johansen received her medical degree from Duke University School of Medicine and completed her residency at Massachusetts General Hospital and her fellowship training at the University of California, San Francisco.

View press release

Past J. Michael Lazarus Lecture Recipients:

2020 - Laura Dember, MD
2019 - Beth Piraino, MD
2018 - Alan S. Kliger, MD
2017 - Paul M. Palevsky, MD
2016 - Ramesh Khanna, MD, FACP and Karl Nolph, MD.
2015 - Fredric Finkelstein, MD, FNKF
2014 - Claudio Ronco, MD
2013 - Bradley A. Warady, MD, FNKF
2012 - Jonathan Himmelfarb, MD
2011 - John Dauguirdas, MD