Nostradamus Award

Stanford Health Care Nephrology APP Team

The Standford Health Care Nephrology APP Team practices in the Division of Nephrology in the Stanford Department of Medicine

The Division of Nephrology in the Stanford Department of Medicine first introduced Advanced Practice Providers (APP) back in 2014, and have since built a strong group of advanced practice clinicians who offer patients living with kidney disease access to high-quality care through patient-centered, team-based medical practice. With the support and investment from Nephrology faculty in APP professional development, the division is an exemplar of successful and cohesive physician-APP collaboration, having achieved a healthy balance between supervision and delegated autonomy. Stanford Nephrology APPs serve in various settings including dialysis centers throughout the Bay Area, outpatient clinic, and inpatient units such as cardiac, oncology, transplant, and intensive care units.As leaders in this space, individuals in the group also serve as faculty at the Stanford Physician Assistant Program, have presented lectures at national conferences including those hosted by the American Academy of Physician Associates, hold Certification of Added Qualifications in Nephrology as recognized by the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants, recruit for clinical research, and collaborate with physician leaders on a number of healthcare system-based Quality Improvement initiatives.


The Stanford Nephrology APP group has deep gratitude for this distinguished recognition and remains devoted in striving toward excellence and contribution to the field of Nephrology as APPs. Though the team is ever growing, the team at the time this award was given is below.



Past Nostradamus Award Recipients:

  • 2022: Mark Neumann 
  • 2021: Jane Davis, RN, BSN, MSN, DNP
  • 2020: Andrea Easom, MA, MNSc, FNP-BC, CNN-NP
  • 2019: Cynthia Smith, DNP, CNN-NP, FNP-BC, APRN, FNKF
  • 2018: Clinician Reviews  
  • 2017: Deborah Brooks, MSN, ANP-BC, CNN, CNN-NP
  • 2016: Jerry Yee, MD, FACP, FASN, FNKF
  • 2015: Andrew S. Narva, MD, FACP, FASN
  • 2014: Ambrose Y Tsang, MD
  • 2013: John Bower, MD
  • 2012: Dolph Chianchiano, JD, MPRA
  • 2011: Charles Foulks, MD, FACP, FACN
  • 2010: Blanche Lincoln, D-AR