Program Committee

Program Committee

Special thank you to all the dedicated professionals who contributed to the formation of our program for the 2024 Spring Clinical Meetings.

Long Beach,CA May 14–18, 2024

Physician Program Planning Committee

Program Chair

Michelle Estrella, MD

Professor of Medicine

University of California, San Francisco and San Francisco VA Health Care System

San Francisco, CA

Program Co-Chair

Sankar Dass Navaneethan, MD, MS, MPH

Garabed Eknoyan MD Endowed Professor in Nephrology

Baylor College of Medicine and Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center

Houston, TX

Glomerular Diseases

Isabelle Ayoub M.D, MPH, FASN

Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine, Division of Nephrology

Director, Nephrology Clinical Trials Unit

The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center
Columbus, Ohio


Cynthia Delgado, MD


Associate Chief of Nephrology – Clinical Operations

University of California, San Francisco

San Francisco VA Medical Center

San Francisco, CA


Samira S. Farouk, MD, MSCR, FASN

Associate Professor of Medicine & Medical Education

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

New York, NY


Charles Ginsberg, MD, MAS

Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine

Division of Nephrology-Hypertension

University of California, San Diego

San Diego, CA

Electrolytes/Acid Base

Keiko Greenberg, MD

Fellowship Program Director

Medstar Georgetown University Hospital – Division of Nephrology

Washington, DC


Edgar Lerma, MD, FACP, FASN, FAHA

Clinical Professor of Medicine

University of Illinois at Chicago

Chicago, IL


Nelson Leung, MD

Professor of Medicine

Program Director, Onco-Nephrology fellowship

Mayo Clinic

Rochester, MN

Clinical Pharmacy

Calvin Meaney, PharmD, BCPS

Interim Head, Division of Outcomes and Practice Advancement

Clinical Associate Professor

Department of Pharmacy Practice

School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

University of Buffalo

Buffalo, NY

Vascular Access/Interventional Nephrology

Louise Moist, MD, MSc, CCPE

Vascular Access/Interventional Nephrology

Deputy Chair Division of Nephrology

Deputy Chair Center from Quality, Innovation and Safety

Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology

Western University

London, Canada

AKI/Critical Care

Dennis Moledina, MD, PhD, FASN

Assistant Professor

Director, Kidney BioBank

Yale School of Medicine

New Haven, CT

Public Health/Disparities

Anthony Muiru, MD, MPH


University of California, San Francisco

San Francisco, CA

Patient Engagement

Tessa Novick, MD, MSW, MHS

Assistant Professor
University at Texas at Austin

Dell Medical School

Austin, TX

Education Innovation

Leticia Rolon, MD

Division of Nephrology and Hypertension
Department of Medicine
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN


Palliative Care

Fahad Saeed, MBBS, FASN

Associate Professor of Medicine and Public Health, Divisions of Nephrology and Palliative Care
University of Rochester Medical Center

Rochester, NY

Fellows & Residents Activities

Matthew A. Sparks, MD

Director, Nephrology Fellowship Program
Lead, Society for Early Education Scholars (SEEDS) Program, Department of Medicine
Duke University School of Medicine

Durham, NC

Health Policy

Sri Lekha Tummalapalli, MD, MBA, MAS

Assistant Professor  
Weill Cornell Medicine

New York, NY

Home Dialysis

Jeffrey H. William, MD

Assistant Professor of Medicine

Harvard Medical School

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Boston, MA

Chief Medical Officer/ Clinical Professor

Joseph Vassalotti, MD, FNKF

National Kidney Foundation

New York, NY

NKF President

Sylvia Rosas, MD, MSCE

Associate Professor of Medicine

Harvard Medical School

Boston, MA

Council of Nephrology Social Workers Planning Committee

Program Chair

Lisa Hall, MSSW, LICSW

Patient Services Director

Comagine Health ESRD Network 16

Seattle, WA

Program Co-Chair

Renee Bova-Collis, MSW, LCSW

Patient Services Director

Quality Insights ESRD Network 5

Hanover, VA

Kristen Fischer, MSW, LMSW, NSW-C

CE Review Chair

Transplant Social Worker

Sanford Health System

Fargo, ND

Victoria Graham, MSW, LCSW

Divisional Lead Social Worker


Los Angeles, CA

Kathy Merritt, LCSW, FNKF

Social Work Services Manager
Satellite Healthcare

San Jose, CA

Jennifer Miller, MSW, LICSW

Social Worker

Abbott Northwestern Hospital

Minneapolis, MN

Michelle Monk, MSW

Dialysis UVA Health System

Clinical Social Work Coordinator

Kidney Center Administration

Seattle, WA 

Michelle Rowlett, MSW, LICSW

Social Work Supervisor

Puget Sound Kidney Centers

Seattle, WA

Council of Nephrology Nurses and Technicians Planning Committee

Program Chair

Leonor Ponferrada, BSN, RN, CNN

Education Coordinator

University of Missouri Department of Medicine

Columbia, MO

Danilo B. Concepcion, CBNT, CCHT-A, FNKF

Operations Manager, Renal Services

Providence St. Joseph Hospital

Orange, CA 

Alice Hellebrand, MSN, RN, CNN

Chief Nursing Officer, Senior VP Education

Dialyze Direct

Paramus, NJ

Amy Proctor, RN, MSN, CDN

Chair Elect, Executive Committee

Jenifer Ravert, RN

Program Director

Medical Education Institute

Madison, WI

Cynthia Russell Lippincott, PhD, RN, FAAN


University of Missouri in Kansas City

New London, MO

Moses Suherman, BSBE, CBNT, CBET

Biomedical Engineering Director

Northwest Kidney Centers

Seattle, WA

Council on Renal Nutrition Planning Committee

Program Chair

Brittany Sparks, RDN, CSR

Founder, Dietitian
Nutrition by Brittany, LLC

Westminster, CO

Program Co-Chair

Janelle Gonyea, RDN, LD, FNKF

Renal Dietitian/Consultant

Rochester, MN

Melanie Betz, MS, RD, CSR, FAND

Founder & CEO, The Kidney Dietitian

Chicago, IL

Lauren Budd Levy, MS, RDN, CSR

Renal Dietitian / Owner

Happy Health Nutrition LLC

Summit, NJ

Christina Nelms, MS, RDN, LMNT

Pediatric Renal Nutrition Consultant and Educator

PedsFeeds LLC and University of Nebraska

Kearney, NE

Rory Pace, MPH, RD, CSR, FAND

Senior Director, Nutrition Services
Satellite Healthcare

Gilroy, CA

Cassandra Parker, MS, RD, LD, FNKF

Regional Lead Dietitian
DeSoto Regional Dialysis (ARA)

DeSoto, TX

Council of Advanced Practice Providers Planning Committee

Program Chair

Sherry Rivera, DNP, APRN, ANP-C, FNKF, AANP

Assistant Professor of Clinical Nursing
Louisiana State University Health New Orleans School of Nursing

New Orleans, LA

Program Co-Chair

Alison Kaprove, MS, PA-C

Certified Nephrology Specialist

Tufts Medical Center, Division of Nephrology

Boston, MA


Adams NP Medical Services, PLLC

Rusk, TX

Amy K Mosman, MMS, PA-C

Physician Assistant

SLUCare Division of Nephrology

St. Louis, MO

Belbina Pereira, AGNP-C, CNN-NP

Nephrology Nurse Practitioner

NYU Langone

New York, NY

Marlene Shaw-Gallagher, MS, PA-C, PhDc

University of Michigan – Nephrology Division

Assistant Professor – University of Detroit Mercy

Ann Arbor, MI