Shaul G. Massry Distinguished Lecture

Susan Hedayati, MD, MHSc, FASN

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

This lectureship was established to honor Dr. Shaul G. Massry for his scientific achievements and his contributions to the kidney healthcare community and to the National Kidney Foundation.


Susan Hedayati, MD, MHSc, FASN, is an NIH R01-funded independent clinical investigator and nephrologist. She received her medical degree from George Washington University and completed both her residency training in internal medicine and nephrology fellowship at Duke University Medical Center. During her nephrology fellowship, she also completed coursework that culminated in a master’s degree in Clinical Sciences and Biostatistics from Duke. Currently, she serves as the Associate Vice Chair for Research in the Department of Internal Medicine, the Director for Clinical and Translational Research in Nephrology, and the Co-Director of the O’Brien Kidney Clinical and Translational Core at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center.


Having served for a number of years as the Training Program Director of the Nephrology Fellowship, she restructured the fellowship program to incorporate protected research time for fellows; reorganized the didactic lecture series to integrate evidence-based teaching and an interactive audience-response system; and incorporated simulation teaching for nephrology procedures. She also developed other innovative teaching activities such as a critical appraisal of the literature lecture series and a formal evidence-based approach to journal club.


Her research program involves identifying non-traditional risk factors for cardiovascular disease and cardiorenal syndrome in patients with kidney diseases, as well as investigating effective treatments for depression in patients with CKD and ESKD. In addition to her NIDDK funding, she is the recipient of an institutional NHLBI R38 residency training grant, the UT-STARR program, as well as the Funds to Retain Clinical Scientists Affected by COVID-19 (UT-FOCUS program) awarded by the Doris Duke Foundation and American Heart Association. As testament to her years of effective mentoring of numerous medical students, residents, NIH T32 nephrology fellows, and junior faculty, she received the Leaders in Clinical Excellence Mentoring Award.


View press release here


Past Shaul G. Massry Distinguished Lecture Recipients:

  • 2022: Jennifer Flythe, MD, MPH
  • 2021: James Lash, MD
  • 2020: Joachim Ix, MD
  • 2019: Gregory Germino, MD
  • 2018: Krista L. Lentine, MD, PhD
  • 2017: Raymond R. Townsend, MD
  • 2016: Linda Fried, MD, MPH
  • 2015: Michael Emmett, MD, MACP
  • 2014: Mark J. Sarnak, MD, MS
  • 2013: Barry I. Freedman, MD
  • 2012: Ravi Thadhani, MD, MPH
  • 2011: Glenn M. Chertow, MD
  • 2010: Allan J. Collins, MD, FACP
  • 2009: Mohamed Sayegh, MD
  • 2008: Tom Greene, PhD
  • 2007: Eberhard Ritz, MD
  • 2006: Giuseppe Remuzzi, MD, FRCP
  • 2005: Edmund J. Lewis, MD
  • 2004: Hans-Henrik Parvin, MD, DMSC
  • 2003: Robert Alpern, MD
  • 2002: Joseph V. Bonventre, MD, PhD
  • 2001: Andrzej S. Krolewski, MD, PhD
  • 2000: Richard J. Glassock, MD
  • 1999: Giuseppe Bianchi
  • 1998: Josephine Briggs, MD
  • 1997: Gary E. Striker, MD
  • 1996: Alfred Michael, MD