What are the Stages of Chronic Kidney Disease?


If you have Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) or know someone who does you may want to note the various stages of the disease to keep in mind. Your vehicle donation can help someone in any one of these 6 stages of this terrible disease.

What is GFR?

This stands of the Glomerular Filtration Rate. This is a test used to check how kidneys are working. This test estimates how much blood passes through the glomeruli each minute. Glomeruli are the tiny filters in the kidneys that filter waste from the blood.

Stage 1

Stage one still means your kidneys are functioning normally but urine findings point to kidney disease. GFR levels will be at 90 plus. At this stage you are monitored for blood pressure and observed.

Stage 2

This stage has slightly reduced kidney function. GFR rates have reduced to between 60-89 at this point. Blood pressure is still monitored and you are simply observed, no radical treatment yet.

Stage 3a

This stage shows moderately reduced kidney function. GFR rate is between 45-59. Patient is still monitored and treated for blood pressure issues and observed closely.

Stage 3b

This is closely behind stage 3a but lumped in the same treatment area. GFR rates are between 30-44 and patient is observed and blood pressure continues to be watched closely.

Stage 4

This stage shows severely reduced kidney function, a noticeable jaundice can occur. Yellowing of the whites of the eyes is common. Patient may be feeling quite ill at this stage. GFR rates are at an alarming 15-29. Patient is planning for end stage renal failure and dialysis.

Stage 5

At this stage the patient is probably waiting for a kidney transplant. Patient’s GFR is less than 15 or they are on dialysis at this point.

Chronic Kidney Disease patients can move back and forth from various stages of the disease. This disease is serious business and causes major medical interventions and high costs for most patients. You can help by learning how to donate your car to Kidney cars!