About CNNT

Executive Committee

Feel free to contact your Region Representative or any other Executive Committee member at any time to offer your ideas, to volunteer for a special project, or whenever you need additional information.

Read CNNT's Bylaws

Chair Jo Ann Otts, DNP, RN, NEA-BC
(928) 300-9649
jaotts@gmail.com
Chair-Elect
Amy Proctor, RN, CDN
(713) 305-6515
amy.proctor@fmc-na.com
Immediate Past Chair Melinda Martin-Lester, RN, BA, CNN
(602) 821-2227
melindalester@aol.com
SCM Program Chair Mary Lincoln, RN, BSN, MHA
(563) 244-3680
lincolnm@mercyhealth.com
SCM Program Co-Chair Mary Gruel, RN, CDN
(563) 589-4033 Ext. 4331
GruelM@gr-mg.com
Director-at-Large
2018-2020
Susan Novak, BS, CHT
(608) 270-5625
snovak@uwhealth.org
Director-at-Large
2019-2021
Forest Rawls, CHT, CCHT-A, FNKF
(770) 882-8649
frawls@hsmga.com
Director-at-Large
2018-2020
Laura Willis, MSN, RN, CDN
(317) 988-3883
laura.willis@va.gov
Director-at-Large
2019-2021
Leonor Ponferrada, BSN, RN, CNN
(573) 443-1531
ponferradal@health.missouri.edu
Publications Chair Sheila Deziel, MSN, RN, CNN, FNKF
(602) 432-1662
sdeziel@cox.net

Mission Statement

The Council of Nephrology Nurses and Technicians (CNNT) functions as a professional membership council within the framework of the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) in the development of health policies that impact the delivery of patient care and professional practice. CNNT supports the mission of the NKF to improve the health and well being of individuals affected with chronic kidney disease through research, patient services, national organ donor programs, and public education. CNNT advocates and contributes to the professional development of members through education, networking and dissemination of information related to professional practice and quality of care.

 

Strategic Goals

 
  1. Act as an advisory board to the National Kidney Foundation on issues relating to nursing and technical roles in providing patient care.
  2. Promote, conduct, and evaluate community and patient educational services.
  3. Provide nurses and technicians with educational opportunities related to the goals of the Council.
  4. Collaborate with other bodies within the National Kidney Foundation regarding local and federal legislation affecting nurses, technicians and the care of patients with kidney and urological diseases.
  5. Promote the development of clinical or research traineeships in nephrology nursing and technology.
  6. Promote and participate in the establishment of public services projects directed to prevention and detection of kidney and/or related diseases and care of the persons with kidney and/or related diseases.
  7. Enhance multidisciplinary professional relationships for the advancement of patient care.