Council of Nephrology Social Workers

Executive Committee

Feel free to contact your Region Representative or any other Executive Committee member at any time to offer your ideas, to volunteer for a special project, or whenever you need additional information.

Read the CNSW Rules & Regulations

Chair Jennifer Bruns, LMSW, CCTSW
(313) 343-7153
jennifer.bruns@ascension.org
Chair-Elect
Melissa Fry, MSW, NSW-C, FNKF, CAPSW
(608) 847-1837
Immediate Past Chair
Andrea DeKam, LMSW, NSW-C
(734) 432-7870
ageiman@umich.edu
Professional Education Chair Dorothy Muench, MSW, LCSW, NSW-C
dmuench@wakehealth.edu
Membership Chair Jennifer Miller, LICSW, NSW-C
(612) 863-9107
jennifer.miller2@allina.com
SCM Program Chair Elizabeth Jones, MSW, LCSW, FNKF
(703) 906-8467 
elizabeth.jones@davita.com
SCM Program Co-Chair Lisa Hall, MSSW, LICSW
(206) 923-0714
lhall@comagine.org
Publications Chair Jeff Harder, LICSW, NSW-C, FNKF
(206) 598-4676
jharder@uw.edu
Determine your region representative  
Region I & V Representative
 
Sarah Stevenson, LICSW, NSW-C, CCM
(401) 273-7100 ext. 6405
Region II & IV Representative Neeta Joshi, LMSW, NSW-C
joshin@dneph.com
Region III Representative Amy Lemke, MSW, LISW, LCSW
(563) 244-3837
lemkea@mercyhealth.com

 

Mission Statement

The Council of Nephrology Social Workers (CNSW) functions as a professional membership council within the framework of the National Kidney Foundation (NKF) and networks with other organizations, including the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA), state and local governments, and private groups. CNSW's purpose are:

  1. to assist patients and their families in dealing with psychosocial stresses and lifestyle readjustments, and to facilitate a treatment program that will maximize rehabilitation potential.
  2. to support the federal regulations governing ESRD reimbursement in regard to standards for social work practice and in the definition of a qualified social worker.

 

Strategic Goals

  1. Develop and promote patient and public education.
  2. Support and promote the profession and education of renal social work.
  3. Impact regulatory and legislative issues.
  4. Ensure the use of the qualified social work in the ESRD setting.
  5. Provide ongoing support and education to the renal patient.