Jennifer E. Flythe, MD, MPH

The Shaul G. Massry Distinguished Lecture

Jennifer E. Flythe is an Associate Professor of Medicine and Vice Chief of the Division of Nephrology and Hypertension at the University of North Carolina (UNC) at Chapel Hill.


Dr. Flythe is a nephrologist and clinical investigator at the University of North Carolina (UNC) at Chapel Hill and Director of Dialysis Services at UNC Hospitals. She serves as Vice Chief of the UNC Division of Nephrology and Hypertension. Her research aims to improve the safety and experiences of individuals living with kidney disease by bettering patient-reported and biomedical outcomes. She uses various clinical study designs and approaches including epidemiology, clinical trials, qualitative methods, and implementation research to ensure patient-identified priorities drive outcomes research. In all her work, Dr. Flythe collaborates with diverse stakeholders to enhance research design, disseminate findings, and promote integration of successful strategies into routine care delivery. Her research has been funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI), Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and Industry.


Past Shaul G. Massry Distinguished Lecture Recipients:

  • 2021: James Lash, MD
  • 2020: Joachim Ix, MD
  • 2019: Gregory Germino, MD
  • 2018: Krista L. Lentine, MD, PhD
  • 2017: Raymond R. Townsend, MD
  • 2016: Linda Fried, MD, MPH
  • 2015: Michael Emmett, MD, MACP
  • 2014: Mark J. Sarnak, MD, MS
  • 2013: Barry I. Freedman, MD
  • 2012: Ravi Thadhani, MD, MPH
  • 2011: Glenn M. Chertow, MD
  • 2010: Allan J. Collins, MD, FACP
  • 2009: Mohamed Sayegh, MD
  • 2008: Tom Greene, PhD
  • 2007: Eberhard Ritz, MD
  • 2006: Giuseppe Remuzzi, MD, FRCP
  • 2005: Edmund J. Lewis, MD
  • 2004: Hans-Henrik Parvin, MD, DMSC
  • 2003: Robert Alpern, MD
  • 2002: Joseph V. Bonventre, MD, PhD
  • 2001: Andrzej S. Krolewski, MD, PhD
  • 2000: Richard J. Glassock, MD
  • 1999: Giuseppe Bianchi
  • 1998: Josephine Briggs, MD
  • 1997: Gary E. Striker, MD
  • 1996: Alfred Michael, MD